Art

Did I mention I started painting?

Painting of a park with tentacles coming out of trees and a romantic couple being taken into alien ship
Painting of a park with tentacles coming out of trees and a romantic couple being taken into alien ship
This is not quite done, need to fix a building, add in cobblestones, and highlight the figures.

I took drawing and painting classes during my undergraduate studies, and for a while continued watercolor painting afterwards. But that was a long time ago. My friends from my writing group got me painting again as a form of fun and stress relief. There’s a place down the street from where we meet called Canvas and Cabernet where they sell wine (yes) and show you how to paint the painting selected for that session.

You don’t have to paint the painting. You can paint whatever you want. What I’ve been doing is starting from their painting and then adding in science fiction and fantasy elements to change it up. It’s way fun.

I’ve also gotten my own paints and brushes and have begun painting at home. I got a kit on Amazon for cheap, and the first things the brushes did was disintegrate into the painting. Now I’ve gotten better brushes for when I work at home. Here’s one I started in a class that was supposed to be a romantic couple walking in a park and I kind of added eyeball lamp posts, a city with some buildings falling down, tentacles, and of course, an alien abduction.

I’ve still got stuff to do to finish it, but overall I’m quite pleased. Especially with the old Spider-Man cartoon groovy abstract background. Heee!

I’ll be bringing this one up to Spokane with me for the art show.

0 comments on “Did I mention I started painting?

Leave a Reply

